Blog Tour – Book Review: WITH FIRE IN THEIR BLOOD by KAT DELACORTE

#WithFireInTheirBlood #TheWriteReads

Rating: 3/5 stars

Category: romance, YA, fantasy, contemporary

Publisher: Penguin random house

Publication date: 1 September 2022

Source: The Write Reads Tour

Trigger: suicide ideation, parental neglect

Hello Readers, welcome back to my blog.

I was so excited to join this book tour and receive my first physical ARC thanks to The Write Reads.

With Fire In Their Blood by Kat Delacorte

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

SUMMARY

With Fire In Their Blood is a simmering supernatural romance set in the crumbling Italian city of Castello, where mafia clans make the rules, dark magic pulses the streets and the sins of the past threaten to consume the present. Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights, The Darkest Minds and V.E. Schwab.

When sixteen-year-old Lilly Deluca arrives in Castello, she isn’t impressed. A secluded town in the Italian mountains is not where she saw her last years of high school playing out.

Divided for generations by a brutal clan-family war, the two halves of Castello are kept from destroying each other by the mysterious General, a leader determined to maintain order and ‘purity’. . . whatever the cost.

Lilly falls in with the rebellious Liza, brooding Nico and sensitive Christian, and sparks begin to fly. But in a city where love can lead to ruin, Lilly isn’t sure she can trust anyone – not even herself.

And then she accidentally breaks Castello’s most important rule: when the General’s men come to test your blood, you’d better not be anything more than human . . .

Review

Lilly hasn’t had a normal life; her mother killed herself after years of depression and emotional neglect toward Lilly. Lilly now has a mostly emotionally absent father, who has taken it upon himself to move his family to a long forgotten town in Italy because of his grief in losing his wife. In this mysterious town, there are talks of burning witches who they call saints at the pyre. Lilly meets a lot of odd people in her new school in a town divided into two, including a blond blue eyed boy she feels instinctively drawn to.

Saints are burnt, so to be a saint means to be labelled a demon and burnt. Lilly feels a pull to Christian, who is also resisting her and the feelings she evokes in him. What will they do if they are identified as saints? Lilly is from out of town, so she doesn’t have the same prejudice as Christian. Christian grew up in Castello and has grown up with the view that to be a saint is to be a demon, so anything that identifies him as such, he fights vehemently. Can he fight his pull to Lilly, despite what it might mean for him?

I was getting serious anti-Christ vibes from the general; he thinks he is the saviour and a god. The Lord’s Prayer was even changed; I was saying serious prayers when I was reading the scene in the church when the entire town gathered to worship the general not God.

I gave 3 out of 5 stars. How many people does Lilly want? ‘Oh Alex, Nico, Christian etc. hates me’ – eye roll. ‘I want them to look at me and like me’ can we stop please? – I was just paraphrasing. When Chrissy called Lilly a whiny little girl, she was accurate and I don’t like Chrissy’s character, am just saying her description of Lilly was accurate. I loved the plot and the character building. I loved that most of the characters were morally grey; there were a slew of betrayals. Everyone was out for themselves and to trust was to be at the mercy of another’s whim. It was a great read.

Psalm 119:1 Joyful are people of integrity, who follow the instructions of the Lord.

If you like this review and are interested in reading or listening to this book, you can purchase this book using the links below:

Waterstones (UK) – https://tidd.ly/3prSyR7

Book depository (Free worldwide shipping) – https://tidd.ly/3FvdFrh

Audible (audio books) –  https://tidd.ly/3EtH3gz

The links above are affiliate link, which means I will get a small commission which helps me continue by blog, if you buy the book using any of these links the price does not change for you so there is no added cost to you.

You can also support me by buying me a cup of coffee – https://ko-fi.com/book_latte_kech

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: