Rating: 5/5 stars

Category: romance, paranormal, fantasy, action, new adult

Publisher: Blackstone Inc

Source: Audible

Trigger: None

Hello Readers, welcome back to my blog.

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

View all my reviews


No one dreams of starting a war.
But without a fight there can be no revolution…

I used to protect lives. Now I’ve ended more than I’ve saved. But after being betrayed by the humans I trusted, I have no choice but to fight.

And the battle has begun.

With the truth of my fae heritage exposed, the line between friend and foe is blurred. The human and fae councils are out for blood and will stop at nothing until I, my mate, and my rebel allies are defeated.

If we lose the war, everything I’m fighting for—love, freedom, the fae I’ve sworn to protect—will be destroyed. At least there’s one thing my enemies have underestimated…


The first book is The Bone Witch. In the eight kingdoms, hearts are worn in a glass necklace when one comes of age and the colour in the glass determines if you are an ordinary citizen or a magical one. The magical citizens also have their class and one of the highest and feared are the Ashas. Of the Ashas, bone witches are the darkest, most powerful and most exploited. They have a code and different houses that they belong to as Ashas. Tea has only ever read about the Ashas in books until she becomes one when she unknowingly resurrected her eldest brother.

The story is told mostly in Tea’s POV as she recants her life story to a bard. We start with her in the current time and move back and forth on her time line through her stories to the bard. The story continues this way and we watch as Tea goes from a novice to an apprentice surrounded by the politics of eight kingdoms. A girl from a small village, has to expand her knowledge of the eight kingdoms, learn politics and magic as a well as the fine arts. I gave 3 out of 5 stars for the first book.

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews


In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection – now she’s after revenge….

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her – and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die….

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.


The second book is The Heart Forger. Tea is now an Asha and growing very powerful in her magic. Everyone now knows she has done something that no one else has ever been able to do in the history of dark Ashas – take a daeva as a familiar. The once peaceful eight kingdoms are now at war with Tea, who has resurrected all seven daevas under her command. We still go back on Tea’s time line and forward to her present in the second book. We see the start of turmoil in the eight kingdoms and the increasingly hard and crocked path that Tea threads.

I gave 4 out of 5 stars. I love the structure which is the same as the first book, going from present to past. The last book should deal with the most recent events that lead up to the present. I was so engrossed in the loss, betrayal, deception and so much more than I anticipated. It is a YA but it reads more like an adult genre. Tea finds love in the second book ad it really came out of the blue because there was very little indication for a long time that Kaleen liked Tea.

The Shadowglass by Rin Chupeco

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews


Tea is a bone witch with the dark magic needed to raise the dead. She has used this magic to breathe life into those she has loved and lost…and those who would join her army against the deceitful royals. But Tea’s quest to conjure a shadowglass—to achieve immortality for the one person she loves most in the world—threatens to consume her heart.

Tea’s black heartsglass only grows darker with each new betrayal. And when she is left with new blood on her hands, Tea must answer to a power greater than the elder asha or even her conscience…


The third book is The Shadow Glass. The story continues as we look back into Tea’s life as well as the present, with the story in between missing. What is clear now is that there is a traitor in Tea’s circle of confidants but who is it? Tea has lost a lot of people and she no longer trusts the authority of the willows – the council of witches. She is on a quest to clear her name of a crime that even she thinks she committed but not with a clear mind. What will Tea find at the end of the journey that circumstance has presented her?

I have given the last book 5 out of 5 stars which is what I give the entire trilogy. The magic system was fantastic and I loved the world that the author created. It was such a great story and I was engrossed in the system and invested in the characters. Tea was an amazing heroine and she made decisions that a lot of us could relate to. Betrayal, second chances, redemption, all fantastic themes running through this trilogy. And the way the time line of the story telling was constructed was ingenious.

If you like this review and are interested in reading or listening to this book, you can purchase this book using the links below:

Waterstones (UK) –

Book depository (Free worldwide shipping) –

Audible (audio books) –

The links above are affiliate link, which means I will get a small commission which helps me continue by blog, if you buy the book using any of these links the price does not change for you so there is no added cost to you.

You can also support me by buying me a cup of coffee –

Isaiah 63:7 I will tell of the Lord’s unfailing love. I will praise the Lord for all He has done. I will rejoice in His great goodness to Israel, which he has granted according to His mercy and love.

%d bloggers like this: